Chaudhury strikes as ADIS complete the double

Published on Feb 28, 2013

Tejash Chaudhury delivered when it mattered. The left arm medium pacer took four for 16 in only his second game to steer Abu Dhabi Indian School to a 37-run triumph over Merryland International and his team complete a double in the Abu Dhabi inter-school tournament.

ADIS were crowned the under 16 champions in the previous day and they took that momentum forward to annex the U14 title at the Abu Dhabi Cricket Council''s Nursery Oval on Tuesday.

Chaudhury and Justin D''Souza bowled in tandem with their medium pacers to claim the first four wickets to fall. And then they returned for their second spells to skittle out Merryland to 105 in reply to their team''s 142 for eight.

''I concentrated bowling on the right areas and got rewarded. I am absolutely delighted I could contribute to my team''s win when given the opportunity,'' Chaudhury said.

Chaudhury returned with four for 16 from fours overs while D''Souza took three for 13 from five overs

ADIS lost the captain Anirudh Padmanaban (2) in the very first over and their prolific scorer D''Souza (12) at 27.

Jonathan Figy (30) and Sanjeel Dhuri (24) shared a 44-run stand for the third wicket while Aakrash Krishnakumar (17) and Abhishek Prakash (16) chpped in with useful contribution for ADIS to put a challenging total.

Ammad Zia provided the lone knock for Merryland who were left tottering at 48 for four when he walked on to the middle. He was left stranded on 31 and hit two fours and faced 69 deliveries.

The champion ADIS U14 team: Anirudh Padmanaban (Captain), Justin D'Souza, Jonathan Figi, Sanjeel Dhuri, Aakarsh Krishnakumar, Abhishek Prakash, Mohammed Azzan, Akhilesh Ramesh, Harsh Sangtani, Ishmeet Singh, Aaron Santosh. K.Jaleef, Subhojeet Kundu. Coach: SB Dey.

Scores in brief: Abu Dhabi Indian School 142 for 8 in 25 overs (Jonathan Figy 30, Sanjeel Dhuri 27, Aakarsh Krishnakumar 17, Abhishek Prakash 16, Senal Rahinduwage 2-28) bt Merryland International 105 all out in 22.3 overs (Ammad Zia 31 not out, Tejash Chaudhury 4-16, Justin D''Souza 3-13).

Man of the match: Tejash Chaudhury. Best Bowler: Abhishek Prakash of ADIS. Best Batsman: Justin D''Souza of ADIS. Most Valuable Player of the Tournament: Mohammed Usman of Model School.

Back to News

Or follow us on
Image 01