Akhtar, Rafiq take five-wicket hauls

Published on Feb 25, 2013

Shahid Akhtar and Mohammed Rafiq took five wickets apiece for Takreer and Nissan Al Masaood to book their passage to pre-quarter finals in the UAE Exchange Centre Twenty20 Cup.

Akhtar returned with excellent figures of 3.5-1-6-5 to skittle out Emistate for 104 and then Hafiz Irfan (69) and Shahid Iqbal (39), the openers, hit the winning runs in 11.1 for Takreer''s comprehensive 10-wicket win.

Rafiq produced a similar deed by taking five for nine from four overs to demolish Lifeline Hospital for 75 and for the automobile dealers score the winning runs for the loss of one wicket.

Joining them in the last 16 stage were Adgas, Colombo Lions, and NPCC, despite losing their last league phase game to United Bank Limited.

Faisal Thaikandy took the honours of the weekend by taking seven wickets for five runs and a quick-fire 61 for Classic to put up 251 for four and then bowl out Ateco for 25.

Jagdish Jaitapkar hit 101 and shared a 176-run opening wicket stand with Thaikandy but it was in a dead-rubber game.

Scores in brief:

Takreer 108 for no loss in 11.1 overs (Hafiz Irfan 69 not out, Shahid Iqbal 39 not out) bt Emistate 104 all out in 18.5 overs (Shahid Akhtar 5-9).

Nissan Al Masaood 76 for 1 in 10.3 overs bt Lifeline Hospital 75 all out in 17.2 overs (Mohammed Rafiq 5-9).

Adgas 148 all out in 19.5 overs (Imran Mani 3-27) bt Abu Dhabi Airport Services 140 for 9 in 20 overs (Asif Khan 51, Mohammed Nazim 4-7).

Colombo Lions 76 for 1 in 5.4 overs (Hiran Malinda 39 not out) bt Daman 77 all out in 17.3 overs.

United Bank Limited 219 for 7 in 20 overs (Amjad Ali 82, Naeemuddin Aslam 50) bt NPCC 92 all out in 13.5 overs (Ahmed Raza 4-10, Qazi Ayub 3-27).

Classic 251 for 4 in 20 overs (Jagdish Jaitapkar 101, Sandeep Sawant 62, Faisal Thaikandy 61) Ateco 25 all out in 9 overs (Faisal Thaikandy 7-5).

MCC-Zayed Cricket Academy 160 all out in 20 overs (Omer Mohammed 39, Muneer Ahmed 4-18) bt Abu Dhabi Gentlemen 142 all out in 19.4 overs (Bilal Passela 3-12, Isuru Perera 3-29).

Back to News

Or follow us on
Image 01